Default Camera for Diving

We are making our 2nd trip back home to CSS the end of April. Hubby got certified last year and loved diving. He plans to do lots of it this time around.

We brought an 'underwater' disposable camera with us the 1st time around. Hubby took it down and snapped off one pic... then the button jammed. The pressure from the water would not release the button until he surfaced.

As a photographer, I have a few backup cameras, and I know I can get underwater housings for them, but am concerned on the pressure it creates the deeper down he goes. Suggestions on decent underwater cameras that won't fail?

Thanks!
    Stacey & Pete
    CSS April '10
    **CSS April '11**

I've yet to see a decent "underwater camera". Most of the notable underwater shot's I've seen were taken via SLR (or quality P&S ala Canon or Nikon)in a proper housing.

Great question, and one that we would like to know, too. My wife is really interested in taking underwater pictures and is currently reading the underwater photography chapter of her advanced diving certification book. It would be great to know what other divers are using.

I am not aware of any cameras that you can taking diving without a housing. The disposbales are not meant for depth, and even the top of the line Olympus Tough cameras are only rated to 33 feet. Do not dive with these. You will destroy it. They are meant for snorkeling.
    So the answer is to use a camera with a housing. Housings are typically rated to at least 120 feet or much more, so it doesn't matter what camera you use. It is safe as long as the O ring is free of particles and it does not flood. Pressure will not be an issue.