Hybrid View

Default CSA tips on nearby shopping/resturaunts to try

From looking at the pictures of the resort, it seems as though there are venders right next to the resort's property. Any tips on good/reasonable people or places to visit. I am looking forward to walking the beautiful beach and would love any tips on places to stop along the way. Also, has anyone taken the shopping trip, offered through the resort? If so, is it worth it? This is my first time at CSA, but 2nd time to Jamaica. I stayed in runaway bay last time and did a shopping trip/excursion, I was pretty disappointed when we arrived, everything was overpriced and it didn't even seem like locals owned the shop. Afterwards we asked to stop at a small roadside strip of open-aired "shops". The people were very nice and reasonable priced. I felt better buying from them, since most of the seller's had their families there with them. So for that reason, I do not want to be strung into the same situation.
    I would also love to try some authentic Jamaican food while vacationing there this time. I have read that Margaretville and Rick's cafe are overpriced and the food is nothing to write home about. I would love to walk the beach and run into a place with amazing food!
    Thanks for any help!

There are so many little shops, especially if you head south on the beach, as well as all of the local vendors who walk the beach each day. Personally, I skip the shopping trip because I prefer to buy from local vendors on or around the property. I've just found the shopping trips to be too 'touristy', similar to your Runaway Bay experience.

You'll get to know the vendors by the second or third day at CSA as the same ones walk the beach a few times a day and are all very friendly. And depending on what you are looking for, they can also custom make items if you ask in time for then to make it before you depart.