Thread: money questions

Default money questions

Question from a newbie here: Do we need to exchange currency or can we use US $? Can someone tell me what a rough price range is for snacks at an outdoor market or your basic cheap souvenirs? I am wondering how much cash we should bring for our 5 night 4 day stay at CSS.
    Thanks for any and all help.

They take US currency almost everywhere in Jamaica. I had one occasion where I received change in Jamaican currency. I can't really tell you how much cash to bring. It all depends upon how much you would like to spend off of the resort. The cost of souvenirs can vary widely. From less than $20 to hundreds. All I can say is bring enough enough but not too much.

If you are on a shopping trip in town, many of the larger shops will accept major credit cards. We put as much as possible on the credit card so we don't need to carry around so much cash. Something about your credit card. Your credit card company will see unusual charges from unusual places. On our first trip to Jamaica, our house sitter received daily calls from out credit card company inquiring about these unusual charges. Another couple who was along with us had one of their credit cards frozen because of these unusual charges. Luckily, they had another credit card they could use. Since then, right before we leave for Jamaica, I inform our credit card company to expect charges from Jamaica during the time we are there. They will want a start and stop date also.

For the most part, you don't need any cash while on the resort. There is a strictly enforced no tipping policy while on the resort. Couples employees can get into big trouble for accepting tips. There are times when there are local vendors selling souvenirs on the resort. In general, you will need cash for this. Anything you buy in the gift shop is charged to your room and is put on your credit card when you check out.