Default Can someone walk me thru connecting flight process (US to Montego Bay)

I'm an amateur flyer - usually we take all direct flights or stop and get on the same plane. I've never connected.

We are flying from Omaha to Memphis - Memphis to Montego Bay all on Northwest.

Do we collect our bag when we get to Memphis or will it be taken care of until we get to Montego Bay? We don't have to recheck our bag, do we? I know we will have to go through immigration when we get to Jamaica.

And I am assuming on the way home when we stop in Memphis I collect my bag and go through customs/immigration, recheck bag and wait for my flight.

Thanks for helping me with this. I get paranoid about this sort of thing. I worry I'll miss my flight.

We had a connecting flight in Memphis last year. No problems. Check your bags in Omaha and retrieve in Montego Bay. You're right about your return flight. You get your bags before immigration and put it back on the belt. Very simple. Memphis was an easy airport to get around.

Don't feel bad for asking. Many of us are in the same boat. We are making our first "connecting flights" to and from MBJ also. Flying out of St. Louis through Charlotte. We too are used to making non stop flights to Jamaica in the past, but they just weren't available this trip.

I think you have it correct as far as how your bags are handled. You will only check them one time, in Omaha, where they will go through security. You will not see them again till you get to MBJ for security reasons. That's why many folks pack what they can in their carry on bags, at least for the first day. But I think things will work out well for you. You do have your pass ports don't you?

I will be watching this thread along with you to see if I can learn a little something from the more experienced travelers on the board.

Come on you guys. Help a brother out here! What's the skinny on getting through Memphis and Charlotte?

Quote Originally Posted by trking View Post