Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Default Infamous bus ride???

Hey Everyone,
    I am a newbie to the Couples resorts... My fiance and I are planning our October honeymoon and we LOVE what we see. Couples was recommended by a friend but the one thing she mentioned was the SCARY 45 minute bus ride to the resort.
    OK, I'm a total whimp.... can you experienced Couples travelers give me the scoop?
    Thank you!!! Hope to book today!
    Sarah

It's not a big deal at all. It's a little disorienting because a) they drive on the left-hand side of the road, British-style and b) Jamaican drivers sometimes make driving moves that seem sudden or daring. It's really not that bad.

Scary? It is not scary at all, it is a bus ride on a paved road, how scary can that be?

There is a lot of starting and stopping, so if you get motion sick, I would bring something to cure that.

Congrats on your wedding. I'm not sure which resort you're going to but I think the ride is a longer than 45 minutes to all of them. With that being said, it isn't bad at all. I actually liked it because it gave me the chance to see Jamaica outside the resort. I'm not sure what they referred to as 'scary'. Maybe the driving, but still, you'll be fine. Enjoy!!!

I wouldn't call it scarey but if you tend to get car sick, make sure you take something. The airplane make me nauseous too so I take Bonine before I get on the plane and I'm good for my bus ride. The ride is about an hour fifteen to an hour and a half and they usually stop halfway for a restroom break. No worries, all is good.

First of all, it's more than 45 minutes.... more like an hour and 45 minutes. The shortest bus ride we've had has been an hour and 20 minutes. Secondly, it's really not all that scary. Honestly. It's an interesting ride on decently paved two lane roads. Occasionally they will pass but I've NEVER EVER felt unsafe. Actually one time, we ended up with a VERY safe driver, and we wished he would speed up a bit. It was a VERY slow drive.